In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In modern time, we have a problem in many of our countries. They have a lot of citizens with highly qualified graduation diplomas who are unemployed. This is an issue which can not be neglected, because those people worked hard in order to do what they love and help their country. Not only they can not do what they have prepared for most of their life, but they also have existential issues. They do not have stable income, because they can not find jobs in order to support them and their families.

Many people wonder how does this happen, but the reason with such consequences is simple. There are simply too many people already working on the exact same positions that unemployed people wish they were working on right now. This happens because positions which require high degree education usually pay very well. Payouts they offer are very tempting for everyone, and it is obvious that almost everyone in the world wants to live comfortably and earn more money. Young people with higher ambitions enroll to expensive colleges and spend their whole life savings on them. Instead of high paying job, there is a high chance they end up unemployed with a worthless diploma and huge money debt. Again, a factory does not need more managers than it needs workers, which is understandable or the military simply can not function with more generals than soldiers.

However, this problem can and should be solved. One solution is to give an advantage to a more educated person for more regular and simplier jobs. This solution might be counter effective though, because then people will need high level of education for every job, even for example a supermarket cashier. The better solution is the governments need to encourage more regular job positions, and offer a bigger pay for those positions’ workers. Those types of jobs need to become more sustainable for an average person. If possible, governments should create more jobs for the population with high education aswell, but it is reasonably harder.

Finally, the chase for big careers and money led to the oversaturation of highly qualifed workers on the job market. The results can be devastating. Happiness in the community will go down, and education system will become a sink hole for money and time. I think if a nation has this problem, it should try to resolve it as soon as possible.