Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays children are under pressure of their parents to succeed. It happens because parents believe they are entirely responsible for whether their children excel or not. This development might lead to various consequences, which could affect health of the youth and relationships between generations.

Modern parents are certain that they have to take care of their children's future. Parents are made to constantly fear that they are never doing enough for children to succeed. These insecurities are successfully exploited by third parties which are connected with marketing and selling in an educational segment. For example, adults are tempted by governments and status-obsessed schools to acquire additional courses, special programmes and educational materials. Moreover, private tuition can be used with the goal of giving every child more knowledge than they can digest, which often means that a child might feel overwhelmed.

Consequences of this harmful development are likely to be very serious for both children's health and relationships inside families. First, never-ending hothousing may result in children developing anxiety and other stress-related diseases. Apart from being detrimental to child’s psychology, it can also entail increased medical expenses for parents. Second, relationships inside the family can also suffer. When parents push their children too much, they deprive them of their carefree childhood, and, which can be even worse, they might lose the children's trust. As a result, best years of one's life pass unnoticed due to excessive workload and strained family relationships.

In conclusion, I believe that tiger parenting is a negative tendency which cannot help parents to achieve their goals in the process of upbringing. Adults should appreciate and encourage the curiosity of their children rather than pushing them.