Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

In the recent years, children are being under immense pressure by their parents in order to achieve more and more success. Although there are many reason behind this attitude, I believe that it is a negative development.

The first and foremost reason behind this trend is due the higher expectations of the parents. In other words, parents would like to see their children in the top most position that they could not achieve in their life. That is why, many people make their children to study some courses like MBBS, dance and arts and so on regardless of their interest and talents. Furthermore, the expectation of parents start from the primary schooling and it grows further and further along with the growing up of children. As they expect some sort of satisfaction, once their kids succeeded.

In addition, we are in the competitive era since achieving success is considered by many parents as a great prestige. Getting admission in a reputed school, placement in a multinational company, what more, everything makes them more happy and to carry out these task they often pressuring their children. Even if they failed to meet their goals, instead of supporting, they are torched by their parents.

I think this is certainly a negative development. Since children are the bright future of any country, their education, living circumstances with lot of care, love and support is necessary. To illustrate, some recent studies of media highlighted that, the percentage of frustrated children are on the increase. Moreover, the incidence of eating disorders, crime, suicidal thoughts and depression are not a unusuall among today's generation. These all due to the stress and tension which unnecessarily created by their parents to make a child to gain success.

To summarize this topic, I would like to emphasize that, even though parents have the rights to encourage their children to learn more and succeeded in life, it is often led to a negative development.