Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants.Why do you think people waste food? What are the measures to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Food industry contributes 30% to the global economy. In today’s fast paced life, people usually eat out or take away their food, and end up wasting a lot of food. The reason for this insensitive social behavior and the possible solutions to curtail the food wastage is elaborated in the forthcoming paragraphs.

A recent study revealed that global food production is 40% more than the real consumption. Due to advancement in technology and implementation of scientific farming techniques, mass production of crops is rampant.Thereby, based on the economics of demand and supply, the food price drops, enabling consumers to buy in bulk. That is; rather than thinking of actual need people fall to the trap of buying more than they need, for instance, it is very common in most food joints to have offers like Burger at 5 dollars, but Burger with fries and cola at 4.99 dollars or even in supermarkets bundle offers like, 1 kg onion at 2 dollars but a bag of 5 kg onion at 5 dollars are promoted, luring customers to buy more. Considering the above points the prime reason for food wastage starts at the production line itself which is leading to misuse of the food.

Few measures to decrease the food wastage are, to educate the people on the larger issues like hunger in poverty driven countries, making children socially responsible, public awareness, large corporations to have control on mass production of food products, government bodies penalizing the establishments and restaurant/fast food chains for food wastage.

Finally, food wastage is a real concern in most of the developed and developing countries. Although, the source for the ill management of food is at the production level which is the top most level of the hierarchy, the solution has to be consumer driven who are at the bottom most level.