Nowadays, in the society consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, the consumption power of modern society is increasing thanks to the ability to produce goods more effectively and less expensive compared to ten years ago. With this trend, people’s life is becoming more affordable and has a better standard. However, with any advantage, there is a disadvantage that needed to be considered.

Thanks to the advancement of technology and machinery, consumer goods are cheaper and faster to produce in bulk. Thus, people’s buying power is at the highest point in history which leads to a better life. For example, many years ago, smartphones are considered by many to be a luxury item that only the richest could afford. Today, almost everybody has one. This small technology wonder enables people to do many things, whether it is web surfing, games playing, music listening, people communicating, all is in one’s palm. There is no doubt that modern people’s standard of living is increasing in every aspect.

Moreover, better consuming power means more competition for manufacturers. Due to high demand and high competitive market, many manufacturers have to put more money and effort into technology development in order to create more goods to satisfy its consumer. This phenomenon helps humanity advances in technology and create a much better future. For instance, advances in technology enable Tesla, an automobile manufacturer, to create the world's first electric car that is both eco-friendly and smart enough to self-drive.

But as the old saying, any advantage comes with a disadvantage. Producing too many goods could lead to environmental damage that cannot be undone. To satisfy the increasing consumer’s requirement, more factories have to be built, more forests have to be cut, more fossil fuel has to be consumed, and those activities, of course, are harmful to our mother earth. Fortunately, environmental reservation is becoming a hot topic for both consumer and provider.

To conclude, consumer goods which are more widely available is absolutely a good phenomenon, for both people’s life and technology advancement. Meanwhile, we should not neglect the effect it could cause on our earth. To fix this, environmental awareness-raising for everybody is the way forward.