In some cities, the government has tried to reduce traffic by a congestion tax during rush hours. Is this positive or negative?

Traffic congestion is a huge issue in many big cities, especially during rush hours where millions of people use the city's infrastructure to move. To counter this problem, the government in some cities has invented a new tax called congestion tax in hope that it could reduce the traffic flow during peak time. This tax has proved to be effective in many positive ways.

By introducing the congestion tax, the number of vehicles that travel on the city’s roads reduces significantly because people will find other ways to travel. This in turn has improved the general traffic flow, helping people to get to their destination quicker and safer. Research has shown that when the traffic is reduced by ten percent, people potentially save twenty minutes every day for travel. This is saving people’s precious time and money.

Another beneficial effect is the improvement in air quality. When there are fewer vehicles on the streets, there will be fewer wastes produced and thus improve the quality of breathable air. With better air quality comes better citizen’s health and this is important for a happy and productive workforce. For instance, the Singapore government has a high tax for personal vehicles and encourages its citizens to use public transport, this has improved the economy and environment of the island during the last century by a landslide.

Last but not least, by introducing this kind of tax, the government has more income to reinvest in the city’s infrastructure. For example, the government could invest in its public transport system like metros and buses, or it could build more roads, widening existing roads or spend more money on maintenance works. By doing this investment, there are more jobs created and this is another positive effect for the city.

In conclusion, the congestion tax is a good invention and should be applied in more cities. This tax has not only helped to reduce the number of private vehicles but also has a great effect on the environment.