Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open space designs instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Is it a positive or negative development?

Multinational companies are investing in major cities for their businesses which has definitely created many employment opportunities. However, due to this investment competition it is difficult to occupy large floor plan for an office for a cheaper cost. Hence, cost being the primary reason offices have now adopted open space designs. In my opinion, it is a positive development and companies are proven to be getting outstanding results from this approach. The following paragraphs will elaborate the reasons for my opinion.

Firstly, the fresh concept of open space design has resulted in better communication between the employees which otherwise is less likely to be possible in case of cabin designs. Employees can reach out to one another more efficiently. Additionally, a recent study conducted by human resources department of google company has concluded that better communication leads to a good co-worker bonding which ultimately results in outstanding productivity.

Secondly, sense of distinctions between different level of employees has deteriorated. Feeling as equally as other employees provides a person with good confidence and motivates to achieve the company goals with more enthusiasm. For example, according to an experiment conducted by TechnoTactics, a startup company, manager who had spent a month working with his team by being physically present with them had resulted in 40% sales growth for that month. TechnoTactics has continued to follow this approach which has helped them to a grow rapidly and become one of the successful startups of the country in the present day.

In conclusion, considering above positive aspects about the change in office floor plan to adopt open office design has provided many promising results. It is needless to say that companies can gain remarkable amount of success by accepting this change.