Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing(for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, people being monitored are unaware about that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's era, technology is playing significant role in people's life. Some recent advancement in technology enable monitoring of people in the name of safety. However, some people believe that tracking and monitoring people can lead to the adverse effect on our society. In my opinion, ill-effects of this technology is more severe than their benefits.

Let us begin by looking some positives of using these technologies. One of the major benefits is that it help to diminish the crime. By tracking criminal's mobile location and capturing them in the closed circuit cameras available in public places, police are solving most of the cases these days. In UK, for example, more than half of the criminal cases were solved using CCTV footage, and government also asserts that many terrorist attacks have been prevented with the help of this.

On the other side, unethical usage of these technologies can lead to individual's privacy concerns. Many times people have been monitored not only in public places but also in private places without their concern or awareness which assist criminals to target their victims. For instance, videos taken from hidden cameras in the hotel rooms can be used to blackmail young victims. Owing to such event, many people even lead to sucide in the past. Such events increase the crime rates. Hence, the argument that technology helps reducing the crime does not hold any water in this case.

In conclusion, advancement in devices of monitoring helped solve many cases, however, it is contributing to more severe crime by capturing and blackmailing people. Hence, I believe that demerits of tracking and monitoring outweigh its usefulness.