Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some advanced devices such as security cameras and cellphones are being used to monitor people in different aspects. Mostly those monitored people are not aware of this. Regardless of the fact that these technologies have improved the methods that are employed for investigating delinquencies, I believe that the related drawbacks take precedence over its benefits.

To begin with, tracing civilians via their personal gadgets such as their cellphones, emails, or other recent applications is immoral due to the fact that it allows intelligence services have access to people’s private matters. Moreover, this domination has been reducing the freedom of individuals; in spite of the fact that advancement of technology was supposed to contribute to reaching liberty, nowadays, much more confinement imposes on residents everywhere. For instance, in my country, security police hear all the phone conversations between citizens to interpret any doubtful movement against the current and in-power dictatorship regime which is even against the country’s constitutional laws.

Secondly, some people assume that the more advanced technology an invention, the more secure the society will be. For example, it has made careless drivers drive more securely and cautiously decreasing the number of collisions that has led to less injuries and deaths. In addition, the more employment of security cameras, the less statistics of crimes, burglaries or robberies.

To conclude, like any other modern accomplishments of the man, technology has both its negative and positive effects on our lives. I believe that the principal aim of the technology, which is to give man more freedom, cannot be sustained eternally.