Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has brought in a radical change in how people are connecting with each other. It has changed the way we interact not only with colleagues, business associates, close friends, but also with our immediate family members. Even though technology is a poor substitute for personal interaction, we cannot deny a valuable and positive role it plays in today's progressive world.

With globalization, businesses are scattered in numerous countries with an intent to capture local as well as global market. Such moto has raised the need to connect with business contacts round the clock regardless of physical miles at the touch of a button. The internet-based communication tools such as video calling, telephone conferencing are utilized to a great extent for a face-to-face conference, reducing travel cost needed for in-person meetings. This move is financially prolific to an employer. In other words, an extensive usage of the web-based communication tools has changed the way people are interacting professionally.

Technology also changed the way we keep in touch with personal contacts regardless of time zone or country. We are always updated on what activities our friends have been doing by seeing posts on social media such as Facebook, Instagram. Also, with the change in family fabric, even if close family migrates to another country, the internet-based applications provided us a platform for communicating with the family members. It means distance is no longer a barrier to retain strong family connections. Moreover, teenagers chat with strangers, long-distance relationship, expanding social networking are few examples which explain that almost all types of relationships at the individual front are affected by technology.

To conclude, the advancements in communication technology shows the positive change in professional and personal life by making the world as a global village wherein everyone can interact at ease using plenty of communication tools available in the market.