Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The amount of garbage produced in the world has drastically increased over the years. While this may be largely attributed to the waste produced by industries and factories, individual contribution towards it can not be denied.

Today, the world is producing more than it can consume. From large commodities like vehicles to small consumables including food items and other daily needs, we simply have too much to systematically consume and dispose. On top of it, when it comes to waste management, humans are certainly not the best examples out there. Furthermore, in the era of instantly consumable goods, the concept of reusing seems alien. Similarly, the practice of recycling waste is not as prevalent as it should be. All these factors have resulted in huge piles of rubbish around the world. This ever-increasing pile is also the product of a rapidly growing population that remains largely uneducated/unaware. The habit of accumulating things we don't need and lax government policies only add fuel to the fire.

The solution might seem complicated but it is actually very simple. Industrial waste can be controlled to a great extent if governments around the world introduce strict laws with stricter punishments. However, in order to ensure that each citizen complies with government policies, large-scale campaigns need to come into effect. With the help of influencers, citizens ought to be reminded that producing less rubbish is their moral obligation towards mother earth.

Unless governments come together and formulate a uniform plan that encourages recycling, the 'rubbish situation' is bound to worsen.