Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can government do to help?

Many individuals are not aware that there is an increasing number of waste being produced by human beings each year. This becomes a severe environmental issue which requires measures to be taken.

Growing population is one of the reasons. We have more people live on the planet than in the past centuries. As a result, we consume much more resources and produce more waste. Also, having a modern lifestyle is another cause. People would like to use plastic bags and purchase processed food, such as canned food, for their convenience. The plastics and the packaging of processed products are difficult to be disposed of. Thus, more garbage is generated years by years. What makes the situation worse is we do not have an effective recycling technology to reduce the rubbish. There is an enormous amount of waste cannot be recycled for second use; therefore, we suffer from more rubbish be exposed to the environment.

In my opinion, there are multiple ways to reduce the waste. Firstly, although it is difficult to control the population, governments can manage the increasing consumption by placing extra taxes on purchasing packaged products and using plastic bags. People who try to avoid high taxation would be willing to give up on convenience and change their lifestyle by buying fresh food and bring their own bags to carry shopping home. Secondly, governments have responsibilities to raise public awareness. Issuing press release and journals is an effective way to advocate individuals to take actions. Thirdly, governments can invest in improving recycling system to transit more waste into items can be re-used.

Overall, having an advanced technology to recycle and enhancing individual awareness can feasibly minimize the waste generation.