Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more schoolwork.

How do you think children should spend their free time?

To a large extent, I disagree with the statement that children should spend more time on schoolwork. In my opinion, it is worthwhile to spend time on extracurricular activities and playing with peers and family than working on school assignments.

In my view, participating in extracurriculars can help children find their interests and broaden their minds. When students take part in multiple different extracurricular activities, they will get the opportunity to discover a range of interests and be able to unlock passions that they never knew they had. And diversifying their interests subsequently broadens their view of the world. This means that different activities may help children to perceive things in different ways; therefore, it can somehow expand their horizons.

In addition, children should spend time with peers and family. Friends of similar ages are good companies and act as social members who consist of the community that children surround with. Children will naturally develop social skills by learning how to interact with people. This ability will help them be able to better understand how they want to fit in the society later in life. When children spend time with their parents, they can observe how adults tell the difference between right and wrong. When they back to school, they can apply what they learned to make judgments independently and behave in better manners with rules in mind.

After all, children have the freedom to choose whatever they want to do outside of school. But I think they would most benefit from working on extracurriculars and playing with peers and parents.