Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Recently, the problem of increasing waste has been one of the major concerns in developed and underdeveloped countries. Access use of plastic and producing cheap products are some causes that lead towards producing more rubbish. However, government can take some measure to solve this issue.

With the increasing populations, there has been an increase in consumption, which results in generating more waste. This main reason for this is that people prefer to use convenient and easy to use material such as packaged items for their daily use. This results in producing more rubbish as most of the material used to make packaged items is plastic and polythene and it is difficult to recycle. Additionally, some industries are producing cheap quality products to reduce the cost of material, consequently resulting in producing more garbage. Take Mineral water bottles as example. There has been a trend of using plastic water bottles as they are convenient and affordable. Once the bottle is broken, people throw it in trash, which results in producing waste.

There are number of ways to reduce the rubbish. The government should play the major role in waste management. Firstly, the government should educate people on recycling process. They should teach people about the benefits of recycling the products in order to reduce the litter. Similarly, government should impose high tax rate on industries who are producing plastic items to minimize the usage of such items. Although I concede that it will be difficult for industries to manufacture products with high cost, for example, using glass instead of plastic to make water bottles, but as a result, they will contribute in reducing the waste.

In conclusion, although the usage of plastic and polythene based items lead towards creating more rubbish. However, Government should ban and impose taxes to reduce the use of plastic items and focus on recycling process to minimize the waste.