Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As countries and cities become more and more developed, the occurrence of large shopping malls is on the rise and due to factors such as advertising and boredom, young people are being lured into shopping malls where they are aimlessly wasting their time and money. Personally, I believe that this can have a number of detrimental impacts on young people and the society they live in.

Firstly, by spending time in shopping malls, young people are exposing themselves to large amounts of advertising and products which only drives their desire to purchase and consume more. Young people will end up feeling that they need to have things that, in reality, they don’t, and this can create an unhealthy state of mind, and a consumeristic attitude to life. As a result, the society they live in will suffer from the many drawbacks of consumerism such as wasted energy and resources, and landfills full of goods that have been overproduced.

Secondly, not only is spending too much time in shopping malls having a negative impact on the minds of today’s youth, but it is also having many negative impacts on their physical health. Young people who spend too much time wandering around shopping malls are missing out on important time that could be spent outdoors playing sport or participating in other recreational activities. It is well known that those who spend time outdoors involved in such activities mentioned above will enjoy a much healthier lifestyle and be less at risk of suffering from a range of common diseases caused by a sedentary lifestyle, such as obesity and diabetes.

In conclusion, I believe that parents need to spend more time teaching their children about the importance of spending their free time wisely, and avoiding the pitfalls of a consumeristic lifestyle.