The number of people working from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come of this trend?

As per the recent media report, 60% of people were working from home in 2019 because of the pandemic. The count of people doing work from home has spiked in many nations.In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the pros and cons of people doing work from their homes.

The main benefit of this practice is that workers are more productive when they work from the comfort of their homes. This is because employers do not

need to commute for hours to reach the office. Hence, they feel less tired while working and can utilise the time saved for finishing extra tasks. In a survey done by Harvard University, it was found that 80% of people work more when they are not distracted by travel stress.

The biggest drawback of working from home is that it creates a communication gap within the team members. This is to say that workers have to rely on call and text messages to discuss serious matters. So, if the internet is down the workers can not exchange ideas with each other until the echnological glitch gets fixed. According to a research done by the Toronto University, it was concluded that 9 out of 10 companies faced financial loss due to communication issues amongst it's employees who were working from home.

To conclude, there is a spike in the count of people who are working from home. On the one hand, this practice provides the workers the opportunity to work more by saving time spent in travelling. On the other hand, it's drawback is the problems caused due to communication barriers. When I work from home I complete more tasks because of less distractions.