The number of traffic accidents is rising in many countries. Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the only way to reduce traffic accidents. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, a growing number of people rely too much on cars, which increases the incidence of traffic accidents. Some people claim that the only way to reduce road accidents is that giving harsh punishments to those who break traffic rules. In my perspective, I agree with this view.

one of the main reasons is that most of drivers do not regard breaking traffic rules as the crime. They also reckon that money can solve everything, even they violate traffic regulations. This reduces their awareness of traffic safety. In addition to that, the pace of life is increasing with the rapid development of science and technology. Citizens do everything quickly and do not want to spend too much time on the way, which leads to increasing the number of reckless drivers who are always driving fast and impatient. Furthermore, the government does not have an efficient traffic system to monitor every road, which let some traffic offenders think that they may not be caught by traffic police. As a consequence, the number of the traffic accidents is growing, and most of them lead to property loss and injuries, even deaths.

On the other hand, some individuals argue that there are still other methods to help drivers to obey traffic regulations. For example, installing speed cameras and red light cameras on every cross road can help drivers improve awareness of traffic rules. Moreover, the government can encourage media to provide real-time traffic information for drivers, which can help them to avoid the traffic congestion. Finally, the government can organise some traffic saftey activities to educate drivers about the traffic regulations. All the above can reduce the road accidents efficiently.

As far as I am concerned, I think strict punishment, such as pay heary fines or be sent into prison, is a good method to deter dangerous driving. Also, the government can do something else to help drivers observe traffic rules.