The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and
behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for
modern life.
It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem incompatible with the needs
of younger people. While I agree that some traditional ideas are outdated, I believe that others are still useful
and should not be forgotten.
On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are becoming less relevant for
younger people. In the past, for example, people were advised to learn a profession and find a secure job for life,
but today’s workers expect much more variety and diversity from their careers. At the same time, the ‘rules’
around relationships are being eroded as young adults make their own choices about who and when to marry.
But perhaps the greatest disparity between the generations can be seen in their attitudes towards gender roles.
The traditional roles of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as necessary
or appropriate by most younger people.
On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable to the modern world. For
example, older generations attach great importance to working hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s
work, and these behaviors can surely benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other
characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. In our globalized world,
young adults can expect to come into contact with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more
important than ever to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier lives if
they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighborliness.
In conclusion, although the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in today’s world, we
should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.