One of the biggest problems facing the world today is growing enough food to feed the ever-expanding population. Genetically modified foods are the best way to solve this issue.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the global food system has major impacts on the population in the world and some arguments say that ensuring global food security is the most issue, which needs to solve by genetically engineered foods for achieving sustainable development goals. In my opinion, I totally accept this idea and the below essay observes the supporting factors to my agreement with the relevant illustration.

To begin with, moving towards a sustainable global food system by traditional methods will become more difficult as the worldwide population increase. Because traditional crop yield could not provide sufficient food with timely distribution required to avoid hunger for all while the global population will increase to 9.7 billion immediately in 2050, according to a report of the Food and Agriculture Organisation. Besides, bioengineered foods can be more resistant to disease, have a longer life than natural products, and improve crop productivity; thus currently these methods become a popular solution to resolve the food shortage problem in major nations.

On the other hand, genetically modified foods can have vitamins and minerals added to them through genetic modifications to provide greater nutritive benefits to those who eat them. Compare with natural products, genetically engineered foods have outstanding benefits about these sides. For example, the rice is fortified with vitamin Aby a genetic modification that is being produced in Japan. Therefore, genetic modification on crops is common in developing countries that residents do not always have access to reach of micro-nutrient fortification and supplement programs.

In conclusion, the global food system sustainability is a hugely complex but necessary objective. It does not only demand modern genetic technology but also requires the acceptance of communities while use genetically modified foods to replace traditional products. Consequently, because of the benefits of genetically engineered foods, these play an important role in the worldwide food security.