One of the major problems that faces today’s governments is creating enough satisfactory housing for their increasing populations whilst still trying to protect the environment.

Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

The ever-growing population is a universal issue; as a result, governments across the world are struggling to meet the housing needs of their citizens. In my opinion, although it is imperative to provide viable accommodations to people, but not at the cost of environmental destruction. This essay will discuss the exigency of this issue and plausible measures to tackle the dire straits.

To commence with, shelter is one of the basic needs of human beings, and it cannot be compromised. Governments across the world exploring various options to meet not only the accommodations of people but also to provide them with their suitable choice of stay. Not every individual has the same taste and economic standard, hence, it is obvious for people to look for a home, based on their needs. For instance, a high achiever would not like to stay in the small one-bedroom living room, as he works hard to reach at this level and deserve a better lifestyle. This is how social structure can be maintained and people will aspire to be successful in order to better their living standards. On the flip side, building more houses as per people's needs, often come at the cost of deforestation, which directly affects the biodiversity of this world. whilst, the real estate agencies are tirelessly building sprawling residences, they tend to ignore the environmental damage, and keep cutting woods deliberately. This is a pertinent issue and the government needs to strike a balance between needs to build residences for its' citizens and at the same time, keep the environment green and healthy.

Furthermore, leaders are not at the loss of options to tackle this immediate issue, there are some plausible remedies, which can be looked at.One of the solutions could be, building apartments vertically than horizontally. This way plenty of space can be saved without compromising on the quality of housing. To illustrate, If one 2 bedroom house requires 800 square feet of area, then 10 houses would need 8000 square feet at least. In contrast if the apartments are built vertically as a 10 storey building, only 800 square feet of the surface area are required. In addition, Colonies can be built in the barren lands, which will save our green jungles. These uncultivated areas are a good option for building skyscrapers, which will be a perfect solution to build an appropriate abode for people. For example, The Gujrat government in India built a whole new city in the Kachh desert. This kind of farsightedness of state government shows, how to satisfy the shelter need for the citizen.

In conclusion, the need for affordable and suitable accommodation will only increase in the future. Hence, Leaders should be proactive and work with their bureaucrats to be ready with options, and they should not ignore the environmental well being. Human beings can only prosper if they respect nature and co-exist together.