The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is true that stricter punishments will deter many motorists from driving dangerously and carelessly. However, I strongly disagree that this is the mere way to improve road safety, because there are alternative measures which would also be effective.

A good reason that punishments on driving offenses is not the only solution to enhance the safety is that stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, therefore motorists will think twice before committing traffic offenses. it is often forgotten that motoring offenses are, in fact, crimes. The full weight of the law should be applied in imposing of driving licenses. The letter of the law must be strictly implemented, banning offenders from the roads so they will no longer pose a danger to other road-users, including pedestrians. those who drive while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence, as is sometimes imposed in the UK, because they endanger innocent lives.

Another reason is that while harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, there are other steps which national and local authorities should take to improve road safety. Firstly, installing speed cameras has made drivers aware of the need to adhere to speed limits. many authorities around the world have adapted this very cost-effective measure. Secondly, traffic calming measures have succeeded in reducing the number of accidents, particularly in built-up areas.

Finally, it is necessary to adapt a policy of conducting regular vehicle inspections, at authorized centers, to avoid accidents caused by mechanical failures.

In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.