The only way to improve safety on our roads is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree?

An increasing number of cars on the road and traffic accidents are the widespread concerns of major cities and towns today. A popular remedy to tumble the violation acts on the road is by punishing drivers who offended. However, I believe authorities have to adopt certain other measures too, for the same.

To begin with, as the saying prevention is better than cure, several nations have their own complicated rules and regulations to assure safety on roads. For instance, Micronesia and some European countries hold the reputation of high safety on roads, worldwide. This is because of their adequate rules for driving licenses and improved infrastructure. Hence, road fatalities are occurring due to the lack of these facilities that which we can see in developing and poor countries like India. Furthermore, a separate effective traffic control systems would be a beneficial factor for all metropolitan areas to reduce congestion, accidents and to protect pedestrian travellers.

Admittedly, it is generally accepted that due to the detrimental effect of stringent laws of punishment for traffic rule violators had proven effective to curb the number of occurrences. For example, in the Middle East countries such as Saudi Arabia is ideally successful in this way. Nevertheless, this system would not help to avert the accidents, which drivers do inadvertently. This can be achieved along with efficient traffic control force, traffic regulations and road systems.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned facts and reasons, it is clearly evident that the enactment of strict punishment is not only sufficient to improve safety on the roads but also the requirement of traffic control staff, high effective rules and road systems are needed.