The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree . Give reasons for your answer & include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the increasing traffic on the roads is the serious concern, in order to limit the vehicles on road, the unnecessary traveling to workplace, malls and schools should be reduced, as it may be helpful to reduce the traffic, but i totally disagree with the comment and this essay will state the reason behind the disagreement for the above mentioned statement.

To begin with, all the work cannot be done from home, as in case of professionals such as doctors, engineers, pilots and so on. Health professionals cannot perform work activities through home because few patients may need to be operated that can be done in the hospital not at home. Even the engineers have to visit the site to perform the skilled activities. Therefore, restricting the traffic by reducing the travelling to work is no solution.

Indeed, other measures can be taken to reduce the overcrowding of vehicles on roads. Instead of using own vehicle, public transportation services can be utilised. New Delhi is one such example who stepped forward to take the early measures in reducing traffic. Firstly, introducing the odd even formula for local city vehicles and secondly, free public transportation service for women.

To recapitulate, forbidding the workplace travelling is no solution to reduce traffic, therefore, other alternative steps can be helpful in eliminating the traffic on roads.