The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The most viable solution to the evergrowing traffic problem in urban areas, according to some, is to minimize the citizen's need for travel to workplaces, shopping malls and schools. However, I disagree with this viewpoint.

Firstly, all jobs cannot be done from home. Doctors, engineers, nurses and many other professionals have to visit their workplaces to perform their jobs. Similarly, if we shop online, dispatch staff will still be on the road to deliver products. In addition to this, many professional courses require field studies and laboratory works and an online course cannot provide such facilities. Online courses cannot be compared with classroom teaching and the quality of the products cannot be judged just by the pictures on a laptop or a phone. Furthermore, if somebody is confined to one place for a long, he may develop health problems - diabetes, obesity, hypertension, weak eyesight are only a few to mention.

To truly tackle the traffic congestion, we need more realistic solutions. One such solution can be improving the public transportation. The convenience of public conveyance would discourage many to use their private cars, which is the primary reason for bad traffic in many cities. Furthermore, the government can encourage cyclists to use this eco-friendly mode of transport more often by dedicating a separate lane for them. Many European and Asian cities, for example, already have separate cycle lanes and this has been truly effective in promoting environmentally friendly vehicles and reducing congestions.

In conclusion, in order to minimize traffic jams, the authority should enhance mass transportation facilities and encourage people to use eco-friendly transports rather than planning to restrict people's movements.