The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion is perhaps a curse in many cities and it kills valuable time on the one hand and degrades people's overall productivity and economic progress on the other hand. Since the main reason for traffic gridlocks on the roads is the overwhelming number of people who commute daily, limiting it to to a reasonable extent is conceivably the best solution to curb the bad traffic.

Admittedly, the government and city administration cannot ask citizens to stay indoors and arrange 'work from home' facility for every professional as making it a regulation would create confusion and discontent. Moreover, people need to get outside not only for their professional, shopping and educational needs but also to socialise and for entertainments. Thus restricting people's need to commute daily seems like an unrealistic idea to many.

However, there are ways to implement it without creating any confusion and dissatisfaction among citizens and curbing the traffic problems at the same time. Since we need to reduce the number of commuters and vehicles from the road, which is the only viable solution to traffic problems, we can sort out the professionals who can work from home and then distribute the facilities like shopping centres, parks and banks to all residential areas so that people can get them within walking distance. For instance, IT professionals, lawyers, bookkeepers, customer service representatives, instructors and similar other professionals do not need to travel to their office daily as they can execute most of their responsibilities from home with the help of technology.

Moreover, improving some facilities and digitalising many services can deter people from unnecessary daily commuting. For instance, many parents travel to their children's school daily to drop them and pick them up and if schools offer safe and convenient transportation facilities, parents would rely on such facility rather than travelling daily. Similarly, banking, utility bill payment and help desk should be digitalised so that we can complete our tasks from home rather than visiting those offices.

To conclude, traffic congestion in many cities is so big a problem that the authority is struggling to keep in control. A large number of commuters and the vehicles they use are the primary reason for that and it is expected that the government would facilitate people so that they need to commute less frequently.