Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem.

What are the causes of this?

How can this problem be solved?

- 09:01

For two decades many countries of the world have been experiencing problems caused by rapidly growing populations in urban areas. Even though, several problems have arisen as a result of this, they can be tackled by both governments and individuals.

On the one hand, one of the first causes of overpopulation in large cities is lack of educational and medical resources in poorer areas that pulls people towards developed cities. Rural communities often face higher teacher shortages, dangerous or long journeys to school and can receive an education that is lacking in comparison to their urban school peers. As a result of this, they are more likely to want to live in urban centers.

Another major cause which has a big contribution to the overpopulation is the industrial and agricultural revolution. Since production of food and other goods became better due to use of updated machines, people have been able to raise more children. For example, Beijing is a political and educational center of China with its 19 million population. Thus, people want to live there.

On the other hand, governments should make better services by building more hospitals and schools provided with the latest technologies and experts and companies should also create jobs for people who live in countryside. Therefore, people may stop moving to cities. Furthermore, family planning must be promoted by governments in big cities. Special organizations should help parents to understand the need to have one or two children at the most.

To conclude, it is clear that the problems caused by overpopulation in urban areas are very serious. However, with the right actions by individuals and governments, the balance between population of countryside and cities can be kept