Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems?

Excess population in cities has resulted in various issues. The two main problems that are caused by over population are exploitation of labor that migrates to the cities and the strain that the surplus people cause on the cities' infrastructure and resources.

These problems can be dealt with at individual as well as government levels.

One of the reasons of overpopulation of the cities is due to lack of employment opportunities in smaller towns , therefore people migrate to urban areas in search of better avenues for work and trade. As a result of which there is more supply of labor in the larger towns, which leads to their exploitation at the hands of capitalists. Firstly, the government needs to resolve the problem of overcrowding of the urban areas itself, by developing adjacent suburban areas by means of industrialization that can provide a good source of living to the masses living in the smaller towns so that they are not required to migrate.

The surplus population has an adverse effect on the resources of the city, for example, overcrowded cities such as Mumbai face acute shortage of water and face frequent water cuts. To attempt to resolve this at an individual level, each one of us needs to use these resources responsibly and ensure to reduce wastage.

To conclude, overpopulation of the urban areas does led to many difficulties, namely exploitation of cheap migrant labor and strain on the resources of the city. Efforts of both the government and the individuals are required to order to deal with these problems.