Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Census experts both from developing and developed countries have continued to express concerns over the continuous influx of people into the urban areas, thereby making overpopulation a major problem to the government and individuals. This essay will examine the challenges associated with this practice, as well as the probable mitigation plans, with excerpts from the New York Times magazine and Daily Independent Journal to support the discussion.

To begin with, one of the major problems of overpopulation is high accommodation rent, caused by imbalance between demand and supply. Consequently, people will end up expending all theirs earnings on house rent while other basic needs (such as healthy feeding, good clothing, and so on) might not be met. In addition, increased traffic has been another problem overpopulated cities such as Lagos have found difficult to control. People leave home as early as 4am in other to beat the traffic, thereby having less time to sleep at night. Such lifestyle have a devastating implication on the health of the individual. For example, the New York Times magazine reported that an average Lagosian spends about seven hours in traffic every day compared to one hour for residents of Ilorin.

Possible solution to overpopulation is, investment by individuals and government in low cost housing schemes at neighboring cities. This will ensure low demand of accommodation at the overpopulated cities, consequently a reducing the house rent. Also, transportation scheme such as the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) will help reduce the vehicular traffic as fewer cars will be available on the road. Ultimately people will have enough time to sleep as well as spend more time with their families before they depart for work. According to the Daily Independent Journal, the average time spent by a Lagosian in traffic reduced significantly by sixty percent since the inception of the Bus Rapid Transport Scheme.

As a closing remark, overpopulation creates problems such as increased house rent and vehicular traffic. However, investment in housing schemes and developing appropriate transportation schemes such as the Bus Rapid Transit are appropriate mitigation strategies