People aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives, but few achieve it. What are the causes of this problem? How to overcome it?

Although achieving a work-life balance has always been the all-time goal of many white collars, the number of people who can actually maintain that idea is limited. While there are several reasons accounting for why this situation happens, I would agree that society and government might take steps to mitigate these potentials.

On the one hand, it is no doubt true that leading-edge technology has revolutionized the modes of people’s lifework, which allows white collars to work remotely and still get tasks done instead of having to stay presently on-site in a nine-to-five job. This would act as a precursor for employers to make the most use of their employees’ workforce, requiring them to keep working for extra hours even after they finish their official workday hours. For instance, some managers might assign tasks to be accomplished during the weekends in case of an emergency. Therefore, if this situation persists in the long term, workers will be swayed into hectic dead-end schedules, consequently forgetting to invest their rest hours to relax and recharge, which is contrary to the definition of balancing between work and life.

Nevertheless, there are some more effective and practical measures that should be considered to handle this problem from the government’s perspective. Firstly, governance policies might be adopted, which set limited working hours per week. This will restrict the citizens from working overtime and will be fined if violating. Secondly, policymakers should launch campaigns to raise their inhabitants’ awareness regarding the detrimental influences that happen to overworked people’s physical and mental health, which undoubtedly can lead to stress and other life-threatening conditions. As a result, these people would be more conscious about how long they work and avoid consistent hours of work.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that the proliferation of technological development should be held accountable for this unbalanced work-life situation, and there are other substantial ways to address this issue from a societal level.