More people than ever before are traveling to other countries now. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an inescapable fact that the number of people traveling abroad has increased surprisingly in recent years. I would agree that there are numerous reasons for this trend, which might have some positive impacts on social development.

On the one hand, I would believe that there are both technological and social factors that account for this change. The strongest argument is that in light of the proliferation of cutting-edge technology, aviation development has made airfare much cheaper than ever before. Therefore, not only affluent people can afford the travel cost but also common ones can be able to bear the expense of traveling. Besides, along with economic progression, the standards of living have been witnessed a remarkably exponential growth. This would undeniably lead to the situation that demand for entertaining as well as relaxation increases, facilitating people to place more and more emphasis on travel.

On the other hand, this phenomenon could have beneficial impacts in terms of both society and economic perspective. First, it is true without a doubt that traveling helps people to be able to get a closer insight into many different cultures that enlightens horizon-broadening experience. This would definitely give people opportunities to have a multi-dimensional outlook on life, acting as a precursor to comprehensive personal development. Second, the tourism industry expands dramatically over the past few years, being a contributor to many countries’ economic development. For instance, in the last 3 years, Vietnam has earned significant revenue that comes from the traveling industry, which is recently reported that accounts for approximately 10% of total GDP.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the advances in aviation and economic development contribute to the rise of traveling, which can exert positive effects for the aforementioned reasons.