People eat more processed food than they did in the past, why is this and what are the effects of this?

Processed food is consumed more than it was. The reason is that the changing lifestyle has enabled us to have more options for meals than before and it usually provides better flavours than original ingredients. As a consequence, unbalanced diets and overdosing in salt, sugar or MSG are becoming major health problems in both present and future generations.

Due to the improved agricultural technique, food has been produced much more than it used to be. As a result, manufacturers need to preserve them longer which means extra processes have been added into the freshly harvested crops. For instance, salt is one of the most common extras which creates an unpleasant environment for preventing bacterial growth. Furthermore, it increases better tastes that make people consume more than needed.

Consuming too many extras worsens people’s health condition, which may cause potential chronical diseases such as hypertension or diabetes. In other word, chemicals contained in processed food are critical for our health have been widely used to make our food more delicious and people have a tendency to overeat it. For example, a recent study has shown the people has a 43% higher chance to develop a heart-related issue when their daily salt consumption is 5g more than recommended.

In conclusion, processed food should not be a problem because it helps farmers, industries and individuals to have almost every kind of food whenever in needs. However, having too much of it is the one principle factor which causes people ill and affects our healthy lifestyle.