A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The worth of a person in the society has changed over the years due to the shift in values. A higher degree of attention is paid on one's social reputation and how much wealth we flaunt in the modern city compared to virtues. I agree with this opinion to a large extent and would further give you an insight as to why I choose to believe that the society is highly materialistic?

To begin with, living in a consumer driven community is the main cause that contributes to the prevalence of judging others by what they have. The higher living standard enables people to afford buying high-valued goods or even luxurious handbags and designer's branded clothes. they are taken as a symbol of social status which the more you own, the more valued you are. A good illustration of this is that there is an abundance of designer clothes, accessories in India with exclusive showrooms catering to foreign products ranging from Gucci, Prada, louis Viton and these brands are exorbitantly charged amounting to millions of rupees. The high demand for such items only makes the Indian market a favourable hub for all leading world designers

Meanwhile, A person who has money, style and class is literally worshipped but at the same time a modestly dressed though a well-educated even a University topper, May meet a lot of ridicule by the society at large that’s why of late there is mad rush for image consultants, style consultants, etiquette classes, personality development classes etc. for example, each and every rich mogul is so bothered about their social status and their image that they fail to show profound concern towards environmental causes or social causes. Although they may end up showing superficial concerns for such causes as a publicity gimmick

To conclude, there is no doubt that the value in judging one's worth has been differentiated from the past when people emphasize more on consumer products and follow the new social standards. Despite the fact that it is a sad truth, this phenomenon will gradually continue under the development of materialism and social media.