What are the advantages and disadvantages of maternity leave?

Which side do you feel outweighs the other?

Maternity leave allows a woman to strike a perfect balance between their career and family life. This comes with some merits as well as demerits. I definitely believe that the pros by and large outweigh the cons and throughout the essay I will form a justify of my viewpoint through plausible examples.

To commence with, nowadays woman have become an indispensable part of the corporate world. Nowadays, Woman format least form half of a company’s working force. So a company who targets success, cannot function smoothly without women’s intellect. As any every multinational company works on the principle of teamwork, and a team is made of men and women. Thus, to negate the legitimate requirement of a woman, would not only tarnish the image of a company but would even further deter resourceful women from seeking employment in such companies. Take for illustration, currently a lot of big Indian companies like Infosys Information technology consulting company, Reliance Industries Limited, Tata group of companies is also in favour of sanctioning paid maternity leaves for the women welfare of the female staff of the companies. That’s why such companies are highly popular among the women workforce.

Another valid point which come to my mind in favour of maternity leaves. For, according to my belief such leaves should be treated as a necessity rather than luxury, because a woman’s body goes through labour pains and even pregnancy related complications of late are on a rise. Moreover, even after a pregnancy a woman has to face a lot of weakness, post- pregnancy depression issues, plus being available around the clock for breast-feeding for the child welfare. So this kind of dramatic transition in life require some kind of preparation time. For instance, even the government India has presently amended the law of Maternity benefits by increasing the duration of maternity leave from 12 weeks to 26 weeks. The counties who believe in equal rights have of late, recognised the need of the woman for a recuperating period post pregnancy.

To sum up. I believe in today’s times a sanctioned maternity leave will help the woman workforce to be successful career woman as well as fulfil her dream of becoming a mettlesome mother.