Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars.

Traffic jams can bring the entire city to a standstill. The number of cars throughout the world has soared up a multiple number of times, since the past three decades. This has turned most of the cities into 'one big traffic jam' now. For me this statement is absolutely true and this essay will further figure out, certain ways as to, how the government can dissuade the public from using their vehicles?

To embark upon, the prime reason behind my belief that world has become one big traffic jam is solely based on the premise that even if, you choose to commute for short distance by your car at any given time of the day, be it day or night you almost take double the time that you would take on moderately congested road. Be it any metropolitan city in the world. Managing the traffic has almost become the most grueling task. To illustrate, recently the latest traffic jam was cited in Beijing in China, which lasted for 12 days, a distance that could be covered in maximums three days, bringing the whole city to a halt and thus causing a lot of inconvenience to a lot of people.

Albeit, the implementation of various strategies by the government can make a big difference in reducing the traffic menace. The government can start by encouraging people to start using public transport rather use their own cars. In my belief a heavy parking charge would certainly deter the person from taking his car at least for short distances. To demonstrate the UAE government imposes a heavy parking charge. That too, on a per hour basis. This law seems to work as harsh measure against people who totally refrain from walking. These kind of deterrents have not only reduced the traffic problems but also reduce the amount of pollution

To sum up, I would like to ascertain the need to come up with stricter measures, like introducing parking charges to keep the roads traffic free and even pollution free.