At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared to the number of adults. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, different countries have seen the population of youths outnumber that of the elderly ones. In my opinion, the benefits far preponderates the setbacks because of the economic importance associated with such category of individuals.

Admittedly, most societies with a high percent of juveniles suffer a significant rise in crime rates; however, this can be controlled if the government implement strict preventive measures such as capital punishment or extended prison sentence. An empirical survey of Lagos done by The New Times magazine indicated a drastic drop of about 3% in murder cases over a two-year period due to the death penalty law passed by the government. Furthermore, most youths suffer from inexperience because they have not witnessed events that can inform their decision making prowess. They sometimes make decisions without considering the consequences, and could have a larger effect on the society; this is often the case in organizations run by youths.

On the flip side, while these setbacks persist, the advantages are too important to neglect. Firstly, any society that is rich with young adults have high human capital resource which is important for the success of any economy. Youths are energetic and very resourceful and can function in any sector of the economy, thereby supporting the economy through revenue generation. For instance, Japan is one of the leading economy in the world because of her functional economy which is attributed to high human capital resource of her youths. Secondly, innovation is the hallmark of adolescents and this propels the world’s economy. Stellar ideas that have changed the globe has been championed by youths. Examples are, the invention of Facebook by Mark Zuckerburg and Microsoft by Bill Gates when he was a youth.

In conclusion, while it is true that high number of young adults have their disadvantages in a society, I believe the advantages are too enormous to be overlooked