Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

The importance and popularity of allowing children have access to as well as extended period on computer devices at early stage is becoming increasingly a global practice in recent times. This phenomenon has a plethora of merits and demerits which will be discussed in this essay with excerpts from The New York Times journal and Daily Times magazine.

To begin with, the benefits associated with children being able to use computers at tender age are enormous. Initially, with the computer and internet facility, children can easily get solutions to difficult assignments which hitherto would not have been possible. Consequently, parents and guardians are less burdened by the extra task of helping out with the home work, after a tedious day at work. Another advantage is the ease of getting acquainted with recent global trends (such as learning software development, coding skills, engineering skills and basic computer skills) since the world is becoming technologically driven. As a result, they develop career defining skills from childhood. A recent article in the New York Times journal reported that seventy percent of the top managers from the leading banks were those that had access to computer during the early stages of their lives.

On the flip side, there are significant setbacks associated with this practice. Firstly, children being very vulnerable at that stage of their life can get carried away with distractions such as games. Ultimately, their academic performance can be negatively impacted. More so, through the computer, children can access pornographic sites if left unchecked; the effect of this is a possible surge in rape cases. For instance, the Daily Times journal carried out a survey on one thousand reported cases of rape. Ninety percent of the perpetrators were those whom have been exposed to pornography from childhood.

As a closing remark, it can said that there are merits for giving children access to computer and also spending extended hours on them right from childhood. However, the demerits of such practice are far reaching and therefore cannot be overlooked.