At the present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of older people Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the nations of the world, there are wide variety of population types. Some, such as Japan, have a population with many more seniors than young people, and the average age is increasing. Others, such as Iran and Kenya have a young population with relatively few elderly people. Although there are disadvantages to a population dominated by young adults, the advantages are much greater.

First, in a population with the majority of people at child-bearing ages, the birth rate may be quite high. The result is that the number of people will increase unsustainably. It puts a lot of strain on the available resources, because there are more mouths to feed, but there is a limit on the amount of food production. It will also burden the healthcare, education and housing systems. The government will have to raise taxes to pay for growing the capacity of these public systems, putting a severe financial burden on the wage-earners. The outcome of all this pressure can be famine, poverty and illiteracy. However, that is the most pessimistic scenario, and there are ways to avoid it. If birth control measures are widely available, or there are laws limiting the number of children per family, population growth can be curtailed to a reasonable or even an ideal level.

Second, given a large working-age population, the economy will flourish because international companies will move in and build manufacturing facilities to take advantage of the large available workforce. Taxes from these companies provides funds for the government to invest in education, healthcare, environmental protection and infrastructure. The standard of living and quality of life in these countries will rise. Generous pensions can be paid to the older retired people, who can serve as caretakers of the children, volunteer teachers, and the keepers of customs and traditions of their culture.

In conclusion, having a population with a large number of young adults is extremely beneficial for a nation, and the disadvantages can be limited by the government taking appropriate policies.