Some people believe that it is best to encourage children to have a healthy diet at school while others believe that parents should be the ones to teach children to have a healthy diet Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays a rising rate of children suffering from obesity is raising the alarm for parents and society in general. On the one hand, many people feel school plays the main role in encouraging children to have a healthy diet. However, others feel it is best to teach children to have a good one at home by their parents. The merits of both arguments will be analyzed before a conclusion is decided upon.

Firstly, some argue it is best to encourage children to have a healthy diet at school. For example, when information regarding a healthy diet is put into the curriculum, it seems to be more reliable than by word of mouth. Moreover, children tend to obey teachers’ instructions more seriously than those of their parents. Although schools provide students a background of healthy eating style, it does little to affect children’s diet on the daily basis. Thus, the merits of this opinion are hard to support.

However, many other people see the greatest responsibility of teaching children to have a healthy diet belongs to their parents. Apart from theoretical knowledge from textbooks, parents could make them into practice by cooking balanced meals for children and depriving them of eating sugary and fast food. Parents might be the ones who understand what their children love to, thereby preparing for them delicious healthy meals. It seems to be easier for children to follow their parents’ instructions and avoid unhealthy food as well. What’s more, parents could make a plan for children in which children gradually get to know what’s harmful to their health, which does not make children feel overwhelmed. Thus, the heightened benefits of this opinion regarding the role of parents can clearly be seen.

After looking at these two opposing points of view, it is felt that parents better encourage children to have a good eating habit compared to schools. Thus, it is hoped that the rate of children having an unhealthy diet will decrease thanks to impacts of both schools and parents.