Prevention is better than cure Researching and treating diseases are too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures

Treating & preventing any health problems or diseases is much simpler and easier rather than curing them after they effect the human body. This essay explores the major reasons of why avoiding an illness is far more efficient than treating it after someone falls sick.

Firstly, the significant advantage of treating a potential illness before it becomes a threat is that the problem is being addressed at it’s roots itself. Once someone falls sick, the human body starts damaging and gradually multiple body functions get effected. In spite of treating the illness, it might take lot of time for the body to heal as it weakens the immune system of the body. For example, once diseases like common flu attack the body, even after treating it with scientific methods, it is highly likely for the person to lose resistance & sometimes effect the body permanently. In some cases, it can become a threat to the life itself. In addition to that many medicines being used these days to treat such illnesses have side effects which may effect other systems of the body. Instead getting vaccinated for flu is a simple yet effective way to avoid the struggle altogether.

Secondly, treating serious illnesses require high level expertise and technology which are sometimes too expensive and cannot be afforded by many people. In times when seasonal illnesses are common, it becomes increasingly tough when more number of patients have to be admitted into hospitals. Advanced health care is not readily accessible to many people particularly in developing countries like India and Bangladesh, where there are still millions of people living in remote areas where cannot access even a primary health care center. It is far better for governments to invest in developing technologies & device measures to prevent illnesses which can avoid loss of lives, even though it could be expensive.

To conclude, it is highly necessary to take steps in research and development of preventive measures rather than curing them after getting effected which can save lot of lives and resources.