Environmental issues are the greatest threat mankind is facing in the modern world. While, many people address this concern, the vastness of the issue makes people argue on what the major effects are. Some of them strongly feel that the extinction of large amount species of plants and animals is the most adverse effect to which many disagree.

Firstly, people supporting this argument prominently state that all the species together form the earth’s Eco system and their extinction would indirectly effect the survival of the planet itself. For example, the Great Coral reef in the bays of Australia which was one of the largest in the world has been officially declared dead in 2018. These reefs were the home for countless species of marine life. Such cases alter the natural patterns of the marine life which would force them to behave unnaturally which would start a “Domino’s” effect which could disturb the Eco systems at a much larger scale. Moreover, this argument is also done in view of the moral aspect of the right for all living beings to live and sustain on Earth.

On the other hand, some people oppose such thoughts arguing that it is more important for the human race to concentrate on the problems like Air pollution, contaminated water etc. They think that some rare species living in forests or oceans are of lesser concern. They argue that millions of people are dying due to the air pollution created by various sources like factories, vehicles etc. and it is most important to address these issues rather than focusing on some species of fish dying at the bottom of the ocean.

Overall, though issues like pollution should be addressed which are harming the human life directly, it is very important for us to recognize the extinction of animal and plant species and should take steps in saving them. It is the Eco system created by millions of plants and animals including humans which support the life on Earth. Any of these collapsing will eventually lead to the extinction of the entire living beings itself.