In many developing countries there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction What measures could be taken to prevent them

Air and Water Pollution are the major challenges developing countries are facing in the modern world. It is very important to address these issues at both policy making level by the government and also at an individual level immediately because the pollution is increasing at an alarming rate and threatening the survival of life itself.

There are multiple reasons in each country contributing to the raise in pollution at a steady rate. At the government level, it is most important to identify theses causes in the respective countries and implement them during Policy-making. Many developed countries have taken successful measures in this process. These policies can serve as case studies for developing countries. For example, many European countries are providing incentives in the form of charging minimal tax encouraging people to use sustainable & green technologies such as Electric cars and harvesting Solar Power. Particularly, policy making should insist industries and construction sites to recycle their waste or dispose them using sustainable methods as they contribute most in polluting water and air.

It is very important to understand that it is impossible to control pollution solely by the governments. In addition to policy making, citizens play the most important role in the fight against pollution. People should be conscious about the carbon footprint they are producing on daily basis. A single citizen avoiding plastic bags when they go out for shopping can have immense effects when seen in a longer period of time. They should practice such sustainable methods and also practice habits like preferring public transport over personal vehicles. As a result, pollution can be controlled at the grass root level itself. However, the governments & social groups should take initiative to educate people about the effects of pollution and methods to control it.

To conclude, pollution cannot be controlled by any one means. It is important for governments to work alongside their citizens and also different countries should cooperate with each other to share resources and technology as pollution is not a any one country’s problem. It is a global level issue.