PTE essay:

It is argued that getting married before finishing school or getting a job is not a good choice. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is not a wise decision of getting married before graduating from school or having a job. I completely agree with this opinion as I believe there are several drawbacks of these marriages.

On the one hand, people who are not finishing school are normally not mature, and therefore they are not ready for marriage. Marriage comes with huge responsibilities and ones need to fully prepare for all the challenges associated with it. Young people, who are still in school, are not mentally and emotionally fit to face such a difficulty of the relationship. For example, they need to completely change from their easy lifestyle to adapt to their new family life with rules and duties. This can be very hard and stressful for them, particularly when they have children. As a result, the divorce rate in young marriage couples is high.

On the other hand, there are many financial problems for the individuals who marry without having a secured job. The cost of living today is high and it is a huge problem for young couples living with low paid temporary or part-time jobs. It is extremely hard for them to support their household’s daily expenditure and this results in poor living quality. They, for example, cannot afford a good health care system, and advanced entertainment and sports facilities, and must live in small and remote flats. Life becomes very depression and frustration. Furthermore, they cannot dedicate their time to learning and improving their professional skills and, in today’s competitive job market, this consequently leads to a low job prospect which has negative impacts in their future.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with getting married before securing a job or finishing school.