Some people believe that it is better to get advice from old people compared to young people. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

All of us have witnessed triumphs and tribulations at some stage of our lives. While it is easy to throw a party and celebrate our victories with friends, taking advice is intricate. This essay agrees with the notation that elderly people provide better advice instead of young people because of their experience and patience.

Wisdom comes with experiences, so it is usually better to take an opinion about a serious matter from an experienced individual. In other words, adults have already been through numerous tough situations and most of the time humans face similar problems, therefore, the probability of getting effective advice is on the higher side if taken from an elderly person. For instance, when I was in a financial predicament, I asked my grandfather, Mr Prem Gir, about how should I tackle this matter? To my surprise, he had already faced such circumstances, in his life, so he told me his strategies to handle the dire situation and undoubtedly it worked out well for me. Thus, taking lessons from others who have been through similar situations can provide better solutions than youngsters.

In addition to this, during serious conversations, being patient is crucial in order to understand other’s viewpoint in depth. Whereas youngsters can give biased suggestions based upon their own version of the problem, elders, on the other hand, first patiently listens to a problem then analyse the severity of it along with advice seeker’s concerns eventually delivering an optimal piece of advice. For example, before taking tertiary education abroad, I talked to my father as well as my sister to clear some doubts. Compared to my sister, my father listened to me more attentively and taking into consideration of my opinion that resulted in a piece of better advice than my sister whom I thought understands me better. Hence, certainly, these abilities make adults better advisers.

To conclude, it is always better to take answers from elderly people who can understand advice seekers’ concerns and have demonstrated skills to tackle difficult situations as the advice can potentially make or break someone’s future.