The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today s world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions To what extent do you agree or disagree

It has long been a subject of discussion whether practical skills which are essential to achieve success cannot be taught at a university or not. In my opinion, the former notion has several elements that deserve attention, and I will discuss why using pertinent arguments.

On the one hand, nowadays, the qualities and life skills are not learned by students during their tertiary education. For example, according to a recent survey done by Stanford University, 60% of institutes do not focus on tutoring practical skills such as bank management, and car maintenance, for instance. Although schools offer other theoretical subjects Science, Maths, is only meant to pass examination criteria. As a result, children are not able to use theoretical knowledge in day-to-day life. No doubt, they learned basic principles of bank management in school, but were unable to handle cash, and use credit cards or debit cards in life. Therefore, I believe that such skills are not learned by students. due to this they face obstacles in their future.

On the other hand, others who think that practical skills are taught at universities or school centres. A recent survey was conducted by the Australian goverment that about 45% of students who select the medical stream able to get an opportunity to perform simulation laboratory, especially in the healthcare system. However, the real-life scenario is fully different from experimental labs. In addition to this, other skills such as repair of A.C, electric current flow is taught in IT universities under vocational courses.

In conclusion, from what we have discussed above, no doubt, people hold different opinions; however in my opinion, it would be wise to say that educational institutions not give emphasis on practical skills or qualities needed for future success but provide academic courses which are theoretical basis rather than practical.