Question: Some people believe they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state. Do you agree or disagree?

Everyone likes to keep hard earned money and do not want to pay government tax but without tax, country can’t survive as money is required for various welfare schemes for citizens. I believe that every individual must pay taxes to make the government strong which help to make the nation even stronger and bright. I shall explain why I think like this.

People who think that they have right to keep their earning have some valid points. First of all, corruption is one of the worst problems in government offices and people do not have idea where the money is being spent. Most of the governments are alleged for money scams and in the past these charges were found true by respective court. This not only shaken the trust of the people but also lost interest in schemes running by governments. For instance, common wealth corruption fund irregularities were on the wall in India and citizen did not show any interest in games held in Delhi. Secondly, person wishes to spend the money even for welfare as per his/her choices. People have different perspectives in spending the money and some people’s ways do not match with the government expenditure.

However, above point seems to be fairy tale and no nation can sustain without tax collection. Government main revenue is tax collection from citizens and this tax system has been in place for ancient time. Government spend the money on different agendas such as national security, education system, health services, build common infrastructure and this can only be feasible if government has enough funds. Through tax collection, government amassed large sum of money which is much higher than individual deposit in bank or other system. For instance, building highway requires billions of rupees which are almost impossible for individual to spend. Furthermore, apart from development, government duty is also to protect people from external threats and help in calamities which obviously require large chunk of money.

To recapitulate, though governments do not use the money wisely from public purse, tax collection is the only way to fund the government and public can pressurize the government to be transparent