Questions: In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, shopping through the malls or large shopping centers have been progressively popular among the customers which led to the closing of traditional shops. In my opinion, this is a positive development which not only provides the variety of products but also offering the cheap price as compared to local shops.

Several varieties of the single product have been found and offering by shopping malls which not only attracts the shoppers but also facilitating the one-stop solution for them. For instance, there have been varieties of products not only from the local market but also from foreign have been keeping by Lulu shopping mall in the Sultanate of Oman. As a result, shopping malls became a one-stop solution for the customers which led to shutting down of traditional shops.

Another point is that shopping mall offering the low prices than the native shops. Owing to purchasing of the products directly from manufacturer's support in the reduction of various other charges such as dealer margin, taxes etc. Consequently, malls can offer the very good prices to their customers by keeping their best profit margin.

Allow me to elaborate on the above fact by sharing my personal experience and observation. It had been noticed huge price difference while purchasing a mobile phone from a shopping mall which was 10 dollars cheaper as compared to the traditional shop.

Finally, several other benefits have been facilitating by modern shopping techniques such as 24 hours open, home delivery and gift vouchers apart from low price. which is really a hassle-free shopping platform for customers and should be really appreciated.

In conclusion, although shopping malls have become popular among the customer to do the shopping, its have also brought several benefits to the customer which forced to the closing of traditional shops.