In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Due to the closure of many small local shops, shoppers have recently turned to large department stores and hypermarkets for shopping. I believe that this is an affirmative improvement because it offers a wider variety of products, the opportunity to experience how certain goods work, and the competitive pricing method.

Customers typically prefer to complete their shopping in one location rather than visiting multiple places to purchase everything on their shopping list to save time. This causes many purchasers to visit large shopping malls with many departments, such as grocery, dairy, meat, home appliances, and electronics. Also, in the case of electronics, you can try out the device and make sure that it is what you want. For example, when I decided to buy a laptop, after doing a lot of online research and figuring out the specific configuration and brand, I went to a shopping centre where I was able to work with the device and make my purchase along with other items on my list.

Furthermore, price is the most significant factor every shopper must consider before deciding where to go. The key functionality of shopping centres is that they gather many small retailers in one place where a price competition to attract people is formed, which customers can benefit from. A recent survey carried out by Walmart asking customers about its pricing policy and whether they will come back or not revealed that the percentage of buyers who are satisfied with their purchase and the possibility of visiting again is increasing due to low prices.

In conclusion, I think the increased number of shoppers visiting malls due to the closure of small local businesses is a positive development because of the lower cost and the variety of goods.