In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular.

Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular?

What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

The popularity of the crime genre, both television series and literature, is increasing in many nations in the modern day. This essay will discuss why evolution might be a reason to attract the audience to read and watch these types of books and shows, and I believe sometimes it can act as a negative role model for adolescents.

This is a fact that humankind tends to survive. Throughout history, humans evolved to enhance their chances of survival in dangerous situations by listening to and witnessing catastrophic events. This continues today and has become an inseparable part of humanity. To illustrate this, a recent study by evolutionary scientists has revealed that women are much more attracted to crime TV shows than men. The main reason given for this is that because females are more prone to be victims, according to their basic instinct, they try to get familiar with crime and prevent potentially harmful situations.

Even though demonstrating violence-related scenes and their consequences for felons may be considered a prevention method for others not to do so. However, I think it can also persuade some to commit a felony. Furthermore, since some episodic shows give detailed information about a specific type of criminal activity, the younger generation may imitate them as role models. Hence, they get involved in crime. For example, after broadcasting the famous crime drama The Breaking Bad, data shows that the number of small-scale methamphetamine labs, known as kitchens, has dramatically increased in the United States.

In conclusion, the growing desire for films and books with criminal content is rooted in humanity's evolution. However, I think youngsters should be careful when exposing themselves to these contents because of some pitfalls that can change their life course if they try to become the negative character they had seen in the movie.