In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Lately, a new trend of consumers preferring to go to a store which caters to all their needs under one roof rather than visiting individual stores has emerged. This has led to the closure of many micro stores owned by neighbourhood residents. I believe that this is a step towards the right direction.

Firstly, shopping for all the necessary items in one mall or store allows people to save time and utilize the saved time by spending it with their families. This not only allows the shopping to be done in half the time by reducing commute time to different stores but also, allows a person to shop in an effective manner as there is a reduced chance to forget an item. These days, families get to spend less time with one another since parents are usually occupied with their office work and kids are burdened with their school or college assignments. Efficient shopping permits families to spend more quality time together.

Second, big malls often sell their products at a lower cost when compared to other smaller local shops. Most one-stop-shop malls allows shoppers to reduce their bills as bigger malls usually offer various discounts to it's customers that smaller shops are unable to. Attractive discounts and sales are what entices customers the most. The concession prices offered by big departmental stores are unbeatable by local stores.

In conslusion, even though many small shops have closed down in the recent years, bigger malls offer a wide variety of advantage to it's consumers. People wish to finish their shopping in minimum time and look for the best deals to decrease their spending.