In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the strong development of market economy, more and more shopping centres open their doors to their community offering their products. Customers and consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls rather than the small local shops. Consequently, this lead to bankruptcy and closure of many of the small local shops in the recent years. Although this would look bad on paper, I support this as a leeway to a broader growth of a community. This essay will discuss why the introduction of large shopping centres is a positive development.

Large malls offer various eye catching shops in one location. Customers can walk through the halls and window shop all the different products of clothing brands. For example, one can find famous american shoes brand such as Air Jordan or authentic japanese sneakers. On the other hand, the small local shops fail to achieve this exhilarating sensation of shopping through the wide diversity of goods.

Moreover, the items would tend to be a lot cheaper in malls because these large industries battle each other for the largest number of customers they can get. This would involve many promotional campaigns and offers. For instance, summer clothing would be sold with a fifty percent discount. Local shops, however, are run by small time business men which can not afford such sales.

This essay discussed why people would prefer to do their shopping at large centres rather than small local shops. In my opinion, this proves that the community is on the right path of growth with a fruitful supply of products.